Yamas & Niyamas

Adapted from various texts including the work of Deborah Adele

The Yamas and Niyamas are the structure – the foundation – of the Eight Limbs of Yoga, much like the limbs of the tree need a strong and resilient trunk with deep roots to withstand the challenges we face.  The yamas are wise guidelines helping you along your life path. The Yamas are the values of your soul and the approach you take for living your life.  The Yamas are the right actions you perform from the core of your being. The Niyamas provide our internal compass.  The Niyamas create the self-awareness to become whole, raise our vibration, and take us on the path to internal bliss.

 Ahimsa: Non-Violence

This is the core value that all other values stand on in yoga philosophy and practice.

 Satya: Truthfulness

This requires integrity to ourselves and others.

 Asteya: Non-Stealing

Being true to yourself and others and frugal with your energy and resources, and respecting others’ time, energy, thoughts, emotions, and possessions.

 Brahmacharya: Non-Excess

 Being mindful of over- indulgence and balancing wants, needs, and requirements.

 Aparigraha: Non-Possessiveness

Finding a sense of detachment to create balanced perspectives while freeing us to appreciate all that life brings us.  This brings us to non-possessiveness and not clinging to the past, the idea of the future, possessions, relationships, or other unhealthy or toxic thoughts or circumstances. 

 Saucha: Purify

Holding a sense of purity in our bodies, thoughts, emotions, and actions with courage and persistence.

 Santosha – Contentment

Finding our calm center, expressing gratitude, acting moderately, and looking inward with self-love, compassion, and fulfillment.

 Tapas: Self-discipline

Holding self-respect in building our character through transformations.

 Svadhyaya: Self-Study

Look inward with honest reflection, to know your truth in your identity.

 Ishvara Pranidhana: Surrender

Recognizing that there is a divine plan and agreeing to live the plan and walk that path.

Seven Factors of Enlightenment

Quoted from What the Buddha Taught by Walpola Rahula


Beyond the meditation cushion, we bring mindfulness to every aspect of our lives, in all activities, thoughts, and movements.

 Investigation of our Mental Objects

Living ethically and with high values.

 Energy That is Balanced

Consider all energy centers and influences to work and finish what we start.

 Joy of Living

Embrace all that raises the vibration of the mind, body, and spirit.

 Relaxation of the Mind and Body

Increase flexibility of thought and movement.

 Focus and Concentration

Draw on balanced energy centers (chakras) to complete thought and action.


Living life with calm of mind, bringing tranquility into every thought and action.